Overview

Biological Sciences is an exciting and rapidly changing field of study. The study of living things has undergone tremendous expansion in recent years. The Biological Sciences program provides an ideal and flexible path for students to begin their educational journey in this field. The program emphasizes the practical knowledge and skills required for employment and for continuing education in the Biological Sciences.

“For me, KVCC is close to home, and the price is right. I also love the modern labs, and how much hands-on time I have in my biology class." "I chose KVCC because of the small classes, and the flexible scheduling options. The cost was also very reasonable.”
—KVCC Student

More Information

Learning Outcomes

Upon successful completion of the Biological Science degree, the graduate is expected to:

  1. Apply methods of scientific inquiry in biology.
  2. Demonstrate appropriate laboratory techniques and mastery of basic laboratory skills.
  3. Effectively convey, both orally and in writing, a knowledge of biological content, methods, and issues.
  4. Locate, critically analyze, interpret, and discuss primary research literature within the biological sciences.
  5. Demonstrate critical thinking, problem solving, data gathering and analysis, and interpretation of results to address practical questions in biology With an associate degree in Biology you’ll have a head start toward a bachelor’s degree in biology.

Career Opportunities

• Biotechnology production facilities
• Quality control and assurance
• Research laboratories
• Government agencies

Contact

For more information, please contact:

Enrollment Services
(207) 453-5822
Enrollment@kvcc.me.edu

Program Faculty

James Guillemette, Science Department Chair
207-453-3605
jguillemette@kvcc.me.edu
 
Scott Ballard, Math Department Chair
207-453-5185
sballard@kvcc.me.edu
 
Lauren Beane, Science Faculty
207-453-3821
lbeane@kvcc.me.edu
 
Judy Harris, Science Faculty
207-453-53658
jharris@kvcc.me.edu
 
Jared Harvey, Math Faculty
207-453-5145
jharvey@kvcc.me.edu